Yale Idiocy…and what it says to and about us…

Yale Idiocy…and what it says to and about us…

Times must change. I guess pretty much everyone has heard about the flap at Yale.

Because I feel so strongly on this, I’ve re-posted my comment on the article here in my blog.

If you haven’t heard about it you can check it here.

My thoughts:
This is sad beyond words for so many different reasons. But you know who this sort of thing both terrifies and incites violence from the most?

Fathers who have daughters.

While I plan on teaching my daughter respect and tolerance, I also plan on showing her the results of passivity in the face of oppression in any form. It’s true that Gandhi didn’t physically fight back, but he always fought.

I’m not Gandhi and I can’t even post what I would do if my daughter was of age and someone spoke these words to her. Actually by then she’ll be trained in kickboxing and aikido amongst other defensive (UL) skills so she can tend to such matters herself. Then, while other people debate whether something could be proven in court as “justifiable cause” she can just deal with it how she sees fit based off her personal reaction and the circumstances of the situation.

But the bigger truth is that most of us actually live in a world that is often violent and terrifying.

Change comes about when enough people demand it and see to it that it occurs. It doesn’t come from doing nothing or speculating on matters requiring change.

People have been punishing people for more years than these hooligans can probably count and it hasn’t changed a damn thing.

These kids are what? 18-20 years old physically (not mentally obviously)?

Punishment is not what’s needed.

Responsibility is what is needed.

Saying “I’m sorry” doesn’t cut it.

Future leaders of America someone above said? HA! Not a chance.

In today’s day and age of instant access information these boys have screwed any hope of a political future. After all, your political campaign doesn’t really sustain well when an opponent publishes a youtube clip showing you chanting this sort of stuff. And I highly doubt the female voters are going to buy “I was drunk, young and stupid.”

However they might accept “I was drunk, young and stupid and in seeing the errors of my ways I went and did an entire semester of volunteer work cleaning the floors and taking the trash out at the local women’s rape crisis center. I also championed an on an campus ethics and values campaign and got most of the other boys involved to do the same. ” or something similar.

You know…responsibility.

Parents who have daughters attending the school should put pressure on Yale and demand that responsibility be taken and amends be made. How? That’s not the parent’s problem, that’s the student’s problem.

If ANYONE should be expelled it should be whoever put them up to it. These kids are just dupes who need to be made to take responsibility for their actions and make amends so that they actually LEARN from their mistake as opposed to just regretting it.

But there is another layer to all of this that has to do with us as US citizens.

One thing I can say having lived abroad from the US for a number of years now is that violating the amendments and rights covering freedom of speech is not the problem here. Taking them for granted is.

We have become so spoiled as a country it can at times be nauseating. Is this what our soldiers are dying for? To defend “our way of life” and “our rights.”

The rights of these boys?

And let’s just skip the entire political mess and go to what’s really important: those soldiers are someone’s children. Most of them being a similar age as the young men in this video. I don’t want to muddy the waters too much here but that we, as US citizens (and yes, this does reflect on us as US citizens), even have the opportunity to do things this stupid is blatant and gross misuse of the privileges we have.

If these boys were living in Mexico, most of them probably wouldn’t be worrying about punishment from the school or the civil system but that coming from the familial system. And unfortunately, if they offended the wrong girl, a number of them might never be seen again. That’s just a fact of life.

They are LUCKY at this moment in time to be living in the US.

The moment you take someone else’s rights for granted, to some degree you have just forfeited your own.

As a request to the publication, publish the names of the students who participated in it and the name(s) of the students who put them up to it.

That might require some investigative reporting, but it will do more to reform these boys then a bazillion comments debating the point.

Not to compare the seriousness, but merely the necessity to insist upon a change and the respecting of the rights of others, this statement sort of says it all doesn’t it:

They came first for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

Leave a Reply

