When is the right time for a second child?

When is the right time for a second child?

I haven’t really stated it openly on my blog other than posting a gender test, but its now official, my wife and I went to the Ob-gyn and we are expecting a second child in October.

Honestly, despite the nerve wracking, life bending, reality changing experience of becoming a parent for the first time I wanted to have a second child right away when our daughter was born in 2009.

My wife however, was still a bit gun-shy from the first go around and so I asked myself the question “When is the right time for a second child?” and after thinking about it over and over I finally came up with an answer that is probably the best one that I can think of: “When the mother is ready and wants a second child.”

I mean lets face it, as fathers and men we do share a large portion of the burden of raising a child, but the truth is that we don’t have to go through even a fraction of what the mother must go through physically (and to some degree mentally) to bring a child into the world.

To see your child born is a humbling experience and is one which I feel should always create a bond of strong respect of the father for the mother. No matter what else may come between them in later years, no matter what fights may ensue or whatever, a father should never forget how indebted he is to the mother for bring their child into the world.

I certainly feel that way at least.

Anyways, it’s going to be a two year difference between our children which is just on the border of being “age-seperated” but actually should work great. So far everything points to it being a boy which I am totally stoked about, however, we’ll get 100% confirmation in 4 more weeks.

And while I have friends with 3, 4, 5 and even 6 kids, this will be our final child. Two is certainly enough for the both of us.

I’m curious if anyone else has a different take on when it is the right time to have a second child?

Leave a Reply

